Resident Evil 6

The anticipated arrival of Resident Evil 6 brought me excitement and anxiety for about 3 days. The Resident Evil franchise is by far one of the best zombie-survival I have ever played in. When I received the game and played it, I was dumbfounded at how great the graphics were.

I mean like WOW, the graphics are remarkable!

 

Mission mode is very creative and fun, because you bring in 4 main stories compiled into one game. I played as Chris Redfield (Resident Evil 1 and 5) Leon Kennedy (Resident evil 4), Jake Muller, illegitimate son of Wesker, one of the best villains ever, and Ada Wong, which was unlocked after completed all three before.

The depth of the story is much more explored because some questions I may have about Leon while I was playing as Chris were answered in some part of the four main characters story. The story and the dialogue were stellar! The fact that the main villain was a double-ganger of the real Ada Wong brought me in even more!

 

Yes, the story is not cliché or boring.

Another thing I have enjoyed about the game was the ability to walk and shoot.

That’s right: Aiming while shooting! Who would have thought of this brilliant idea? They finally listened to my complaints and added that ability.

 

However, I have noticed that the strengths of the game were matched with the weakness of the game.

 

For one, it was not what I considered to be scary or survival. Sure, there were moments where unexpected things occurred that took me out of surprise. However, the game was based on action, rather than horror. Now, action is fine by me. This game had too much. There were hardly any suspenseful moments that had me going. I need to be scared in a horror game.

 

Another thing was the quick-play. Now, for those of you who don’t know, quick-play is the thing random screen popup that tells you to press something in a very short amount of time. I don’t know about you, but I hate quick play because it takes away from the game, and you normally die if you don’t do it correctly.

If I miss the button for a small second, the death title screen is shown. Arrgh, this is so frustrating.

 

Another thing that annoys me is the overlap of missions in the 3 main stories. I do not need to defeat the same boss 3 times; once is good enough. Doing the same mission is very boring

Last, the techniques used to combat the bosses are repetitive and overused. It gets boring and wasteful to destroy the legs 8 times. It would be nice to have different interacts, like a different fighting technique every time.

I was not the only one who felt the same.

Here is a IGN review on the game:

I felt that Resident Evil 6 could have been a great game that would have been the greatest game in the series if the small problems were not there.

Were you guys satisfied with the game, or utterly broken spirited?

Image: http://www.technobuffalo.com/wp-content/uploads/2012/09/resident_evil_6_premium_edition_c8szo.jpg

 

 

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

